Home > Andrew's Blogs > I’m thankful I didn’t die today!

I’m thankful I didn’t die today!

I wouldn’t have survived.

It was a normal sunny March Monday morning at 7:52 and my oil needed to be changed – the Fast Eddies Oil Express sticker on the upper left hand corner of my windshield had been reminding me for a week that I was over due, but they’re in it for the money so I always push past the 3000 mile mark.  Besides, the manual says I can go 5000 miles before an oil change.

It was a brilliant morning, and the sun was just above treetop height – not a problem if you are going North, West, or South, but eastbound drivers had an eye full.  As I pulled up to Saginaw on Nixon to stop for the light, the oil change mental alarm went off in my head and so I decided to see if I was past the 4000 mark.  I looked down at my odometer for a couple of seconds – just enough time to do the math and push it off until Thursday.

While I was doing the math the light turned green.  I looked up and realized my tardy start and gently stepped on the gas to begin a normal approach for a left hand turn.  Normally I am on high alert at this intersection and often speak of its dangers to my wife and children, but on this day, I was happy-go-lucky, at least until my slow motion – watch it unfold – can’t absorb it all – brace for impact microsecond flash happened.  The person who ran the red light did not break, the woman who had a two second head start coming across the intersection did not break, and the signal from my eye to my brain to my foot was still in process. In that microsecond, the Chevy Impala threaded the needle at 55mph – six feet in front of my bumper and only inches from hers. Time stopped.

Now, you know that feeling in your stomach where the bottom drops out.  I’m sure all three of us felt it.  It was immediately followed by a quick breath and then the words “OH MY” and as the words came out of my mouth the older woman rolled by with her hand over hers.  I turned left and was on my way and slowly realized that so much could have changed in that split second.  Since I am good at math, it did not take long for me to put two and two together.  With out that two second oil change delay the Impala bumper would have been the death of me.  My little Mazda 3 driver’s side door and curtain airbag would have been no defense to the shinny Impala emblem and all that was behind it.

But I didn’t die.  No collision.  No ambulance.  No ER trauma scene.  No funeral.  Life moved on with a two second bonus, a pounding heart, thankfulness, and a fresh perspective.  James 4:14 is my companion for today: What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.  Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will we will live and do this and that.” I guess I’ll get my oil changed, that is, if it is God’s will.

 

 

Categories: Andrew's Blogs
  1. kde39
    March 28, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Don’t you just love those kind of days? I think I have had a few of them my self and thank God I am still here to praise Him for it

  2. Dennis Ford
    March 29, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Your account draws us to our knees in both prayer and thanksgiving. “I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliver; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” Psalm 18:1-2

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

