Home > Andrew's Blogs > Your Vishnu Might Be You

Your Vishnu Might Be You

Last Sunday I preached on the exclusivity of God as the one and only Savior and near the end of my sermon I read from Isaiah 44 where Isaiah exposes the silliness of trusting in an idol carved from wood – the same wood one cooks with.  He writes:

Half of the wood he burns in the fire; over it he prepares his meal, he roasts his meat and eats his fill.  He also warms himself and says, “Ah!  I am warm; I see the fire.”  From the rest he makes a god, his idol; he bows down to it and worships.  He prays to it and says, “Save me; you are my god.”

It is silly to pray to something you’ve carved or chiseled, and especially to the enlightened (I use this term loosely) people of the world.  But the question we non idol carving people need to ask  is, “What do I look to for salvation?”

Your Buddha might be money and wealth. If only I can get that raise or nice home, then everything will be alright.

Your Krishna might be control. If I can get my life all in order and control all the people in it, then everything will be alright.

Your Baal might be your knight in shining armor who carries you away from all your family troubles.

And ultimately, your Vishnu might be you. You’d never trust a stone carving, but you sure are confident that you can handle just about anything life throws your way. You might not say it, but some of us by our actions think we are our own saviors.

How silly it is to trust in you.

Categories: Andrew's Blogs Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

