Home > John's Blogs, Theology > The Glory of God

The Glory of God

Chris Brauns has a very helpful post today on the glory of God.  I can’t introduce the topic any better than he does, so here are his words:

What is meant by the “glory of God”?  Can you write down a definition?

I remember having to do just that for a sermon from John 17 once, so after I read Chris’ (incredibly helpful) post and went back and reflected on it.  Here’s some more from Chris:

“Glory” is a hard word to define.  Yet, it is foundational for the Christian.  Our chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever according to the Westminster Shorter Catechism.  Whether we eat or drink or whatever we do, it is to be for God’s glory (1 Cor. 10:31).

We need to meditate on the word “glory.”

Since my copy and paste function is non-functional this morning, you’ll have to go and read the whole thing for yourself.  Ultimately, he says, “God’s glory is the manifest beauty of His perfections.”

True.  We see this particularly is Exodus 33:18-19:

The Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”  And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence.  I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and compassion on whom I have compassion.”

Here, God agrees to have His glory pass in front of Moses by saying His goodness will pass in front of Moses.  God equates His glory with His goodness, and then His goodness with His sovereignty (“I will have mercy on whom I have mercy”).  And when God declares His name, He is declaring His character – it is the character of goodness and sovereignty.  These are perfections of God.

In the upper room discourse, the glory of God is made manifest in the person, and death and resurrection, of Jesus Christ.  Christ’s sacrifice brought glory to God because it declared the character of the redeeming God.

And this:  When we share the gospel with people, either in word or in deed, we are declaring the glory of God by showing Him to be a redeeming God.  The message of the cross is a message worth spreading, and as we spread it we bring glory to God.

Thanks for spurring my thinking, Chris!

Categories: John's Blogs, Theology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

