Home > Andrew's Blogs > Understanding the Healthcare Debate

Understanding the Healthcare Debate

Check this out!  The Back of the Napkin has a simple overview of the issues surrounding the Healthcare debate.  I found it helpful as I prepare to teach a class on thinking biblically about healthcare.

Health Care: Napkin 1

Categories: Andrew's Blogs Tags:
  1. alan
    September 11, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Wow, you’re bold my friend. I guess I’ll be first to jump into the fire. Amazingly, there are many who believe that the Dr. in your drawing has no right to make a profit. To me, that speaks of the amazing sense of entitlement that has virtually taken over our once great country. It goes something like this: “I have a right to be seen by a Dr. or surgeon who spent 8 – 12 years of his/her life going to college (not to mention the hundreds of thousands of dollars he/she spent on tuition), but he/she has no right to make a profit.

  2. September 11, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I agree – Doctors need to make a living. Did you read the the whole napkin thing? I thought it was a nice overview of what we have and where things are at. When I do my class on Sunday I plan on landing on personal responsibility (he who does not work will not eat – if you won’t work then you can’t expect to go to the Dr.), caring for those who cannot care for themselves (Widows and orphans, the poor, the disenfranchised, and those unable to work), and we are not entitled to health care but we are obligated to care for others.

    Was the napkin description accurate or do you think that it was left leaning?

  3. Doug
    September 11, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    I think that you should have “sick me” paying along with the insurance co. I pay for all my office visits but my insurance pays for labs and major medical occurances such as hospitalization. I save money by staying away from the Dr.

  4. John
    September 11, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    Interesting Article, more interesting debate. Entitlement goes both ways, I work therefore I’m entitled to what I have earned and because I’m more educated I’m entitled to more stuff, or I don’t work but I’m entitled to what you have anyway. In reality we all have nothing! What we have is God’s and what he has entrusted to us. If we truly loved as Jesus loved all men (as evidenced by his willingness to go to the cross for us) entitlement would not even be a part of the discussion from either side.

    This debate is about money, when we focus on our money we show our true nature. This is why it is so hotly debated. I don’t want to pay more so I can keep more and have more stuff and I don’t want to pay for anyone else so that I can get more stuff. Where is my heart, it is on my stuff. Its not mine anyway!

    There are hard lessons to be learned by both sides. Andrew, I agree there is personal responsibility set forth in the Word and Christ said some very hard words to those who are not willing to work to provide for themselves, but he also died for them so that they might not perish. Am I willing to do that? That question cuts right to my heart and makes me realize how much I need the Holy Spirit to work in my life to change me to become more like Christ. I want God’s perspective not my own and though I may disagree with someone about an issue above all I want to be able to love them as Christ loved and have them know that I love them.

  5. Andrew Ford
    September 12, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    John:
    You are right – well said. How that last paragraph pans out is on a personal level, but does it pan out on a national level. What is my responsibility to my neighbor. The Good Samaritan helped the one man but what if there were 6 guys robbed and beaten. His ability to help is limited to maybe 3 of them, and he may call others to help, but how does this look on a national scale. And so many are not yielded to the Holy Spirit and would walk on the other side of the street. The scale of things impacts the greater discussion. We do need to love our neighbor as our selves – amen. So many more aspects to consider.

  6. Andrew Ford
    September 12, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Another nice article that takes on some other issues as it relates to our Christian faith: http://www.sojo.net/action/alerts/health_care_toolkit.pdf

  7. John
    September 13, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Good article with some real food for thought.

  8. rachael
    September 15, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    people need to take care of people. ’nuff said.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

