Home > John's Blogs, Theology > Review of “The God I Don’t Understand”

Review of “The God I Don’t Understand”

I recently read Christopher J. H. Wright’s book The God I Don’t Understand and I found it very helpful.  In fact, I used his conclusions from the first section in the wrap-up to my sermon this last Sunday.  Now, here is a review from Christianity Today that will help convince you to read it.  And six more reasons from me on why you should read it (and you really, really should):

1.  You read The Shack and liked it.

2.  You read The Shack and didn’t like it.

3.  You don’t understand why evil exists.

4.  You don’t understand why we don’t understand why evil exists.

5.  You like asking the tough questions about the Bible.

6.  You don’t understand why all those people were killed in the book of Joshua.

(Full disclosure – I have not read The Shack, so we can’t turn this post into a benefits/drawback discussion of the book.  I know I should read it sometime, but I haven’t gotten to it.)

Wright’s book is very readable, and addresses some very challenging issues.

Categories: John's Blogs, Theology

Leave a Reply

