Home > Brian's Blogs > My Thoughts Exactly

My Thoughts Exactly

twitter

I’ve never “tweeted” and could care less to read people’s “tweets.”  In my mind it is a self-centered and voyeuristic waste of time.  MySpace/Facebook is similar, but at least it serves an emailing/communication function (by the way, Facebook status updates serve the same self-centered and voyeruristic Twitter function).  Am I wrong?

Update: read a Christianity Today article on Twitter here.

HT: Jesus Creed

Categories: Brian's Blogs Tags: ,
  1. June 5, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I do not use the above address as my private one but do use it for facebook. I do not twitter as I do not understand it but like you say Face book can be used for communication purposes. I can be used for wrong purposes to but if one uses it correctly I think is is ok. I keep up with relatives on it. Friends to.

  2. jlemke
    June 5, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Now that I’ve tried Twitter, I’m not as down on it as all that. But it’s not all that exciting, either.

    If you try it, you’ll notice that it has its own kind of vibe – a little different than Facebook. You’re right, it’s not for communication. On the other hand, lots of communication takes place – for instance, you can reply to others posts.

  3. Brian McLaughlin
    June 5, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I agree Ken. I have used MySpace/Facebook for years but really for only one reason: connect with my students. For me it is purely functional (and usually to set up a face to face meeting). It seems that Twitter and status updates serve no real purpose (except to look through them voyeuristically to see what people are doing). I’ll stay on Facebook as long as my students are there and have no problem with that function at all.

  4. rachael
    June 6, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    I’m not online much but I do twitter via text message sometimes throughout the day. I’m not obsessed with it and only do it if I think about it. For me, I keep in contact with people from small group and people from my high school through facebook, especially those that went away to college. I think it’s just a new way of communication that some people just aren’t in tune with or just get carried away with it.

  5. June 7, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    It’s amusing that someone who blogs would critique something as “self-centered and voyeuristic waste of time”.

  6. jlemke
    June 7, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    I agree with Jeff!!! 🙂
    (said as a guy who both twitters AND blogs. How narcissistic is that??)

  7. June 8, 2009 at 12:55 am

    I think it’s altogether odd how these are considered narcissistic avenues, just in the fact that never in Facebook, blogging, or twittering have I thought of it in that way. In fact, I would just consider all these as means of communication with one another. No different than a cell phone twenty years ago, it’s new and a little controversial. In an age when everyone “knows” everyone, and we’re all virtually connected, I think it’s just another way for me to keep tabs on what John and Jeff are doing throughout the week.

  8. June 8, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Also, the more I have gotten involved with each of these mediums (blogs, Facebook, twitter) the more I seem to recognize a certain “feel” to each of them. There is definitely a vibe to twitter that I actually find appealing. Probably because, to me, it seems a bit satirical and sarcastic. As if anyone REALLY cares that “I’m standing in like waiting for food”, or “reading a new book”. For me, it’s all about reading/writing 140 characters of cleverness. It’s just part the the vibe that twitter has.

  9. June 8, 2009 at 7:50 am

    There is some truth to blogs being narcisstic. However, I still sense a slight difference. I may be wrong, but Facebook and Twitter are promoted as “social” (social networking and social messaging) in a way that most blogs are not. So the intent is social and connection from the beginning. But what is it that makes us think that status updates and 140 characters is social or connecting? Why do we read so many of these things yet never respond to (but may gossip about) if it is truly communication? Why do students throw so much of themselves online that they would never say in person if not out of a desire to be known by others in some (false) way?

    As Justin says, this is an age where “everyone knows.” Yes, the problem is that we want everyone to know (like being in a reality show) and we want to know everyone (like watching a reality show). At the end of the day is this all about knowing and being known but in the midst of it not truly connecting?

    I continue to say there is a functional role to these tools, and I use Facebook functionally. But there is something deeper…

  10. rachael
    June 8, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I would think they’re relatively the same. It’s still everything that’s on your mind, just more space for writing and the potential to go deeper. People comment on it just as they would on a Facebook status update.

    There are more than just students putting themselves out there on the internet as well. It used to just be a network for college students to connect, but has warped into a world social network where anything goes.

    I will agree people take it too far by put their whole lives on there and are just seeking attention from all the wrong places.

  11. mikewittmer
    June 9, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Narcissism and ADHD I get, but what is so wrong with stalking?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

