Home > Brian's Blogs > Jon and Kate: An Evangelical Creation?

Jon and Kate: An Evangelical Creation?

I have to confess that I have never seen Jon & Kate Plus Eight (one of the many perils of not having cable!).  However, I do have a pulse, so I have actually learned a thing or two about them in the last couple of months (mostly from internet and magazine headlines).  Christianity Today has published an article titled The Gospel and The Gosselins that makes two great claims: 1) evangelicals flocked to Jon and Kate and 2) this flocking shows just how shallow evangelicals really are.

I’d love for some of you J&K fans to read this article and let me know what you think.

  1. rachael
    June 2, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I know when I’ve watched the show that I actually did wonder if they did the right thing using fertility drugs and such. I mean life really is a gift from God and I almost wonder if all of this fame and fortune is a true test from God for the Gosslin’s to stay on the path of Christ and to do what is right, not what is easy.

    just a couple of my thoughts..

  2. mikewittmer
    June 2, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    This is a good article. My wife and kindergartener watched the show because they liked seeing all the kids (especially my little ones). I think the show itself was fine, but most viewers didn’t think much about the background story, or what it took for the family to put on the show. But it is a good cautionary tale about elevating anyone to celebrity status in the evangelical world. Especially someone who didn’t get their family the old fashioned way. Evangelicals desperately need a more serious approach to reproductive technologies.

  3. June 3, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Rachel – I do think this fame and fortune will test/reveal their true convictions about God and their trust Him. I’m somewhat sympathetic because I can’t imagine that spotlight, but then again, it was somewhat self-imposed. At the end of the day I just pray that they will return to Him and to one another.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

