Home > Brian's Blogs, Politics > Should Congress Interfere with the BCS (Bowl Championship Series)?

Should Congress Interfere with the BCS (Bowl Championship Series)?

I love college football.  I think it is one of the best spectator sports that exists.  I even enjoy the BCS (Bowl Championship Series).  I know that it is not perfect, and a college playoff would be a lot of fun, but should the United States Congress mandate a college playoff?  Believe it or not, its under consideration…

The Associated Press tells the tale of one Texas Republican who is leading the charge to change the system (see article here).  He is threatening congressional action if the system doesn’t change.

In fact, this representative – Joe Baron – has introduced legislation to prevent the NCAA from calling the winner of the BCS Championship a “National Champion.”  It strikes me as ironic that Barton calls the current BCS system “communist.”  Afterall, he is the one who wants to limit their free speech.  He is also the one who wants the government to step in and create a new system (with a new board to choose who is in the playoff).  Of course, Barton has support from the likes of Boise State and Utah.

I think a college football playoff system would be awesome.  I know that I would be glued to most of the games.  However, I just don’t think that this is important enough for the United States government to get involved.  I guess they can make a case since these are “public” universities, but it just feels a little intrusive.

What do you think?

Categories: Brian's Blogs, Politics
  1. Alan
    May 4, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Great comments Brian. I love your point about Baron calling the system “communist” while he wants to limit their free speech. Since a playoff system would negate the bowl contracts, I don’t understand how Congress has any jurisdiction to tell the Pac-10 and Big 10 that they cannot send their champions to the Rose Bowl every year. Of course, IMO, Congress is doing a lot of things these days that they have no jurisdiction to do. Mostly though, I really agree with your last paragraph.

    I know I hold a minority opinion amongst college football fans but count me as being opposed to a playoff. In my humble opinion, I think those in favor of a playoff are missing a key point that makes college football such a great sport: every game in the regular season takes on huge significance when you know that in all likelihood you must win all of your games (sometimes you can lose one game) if you are going to win the nat’l title.

  2. May 4, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Good points Alan. And I like the importance of every college game, but boy it sure does hurt when things go wrong. I think I’m impacted by the John Cooper era at Ohio State where we always had one loss at the end of the season that ruined a good season for us. Just think how many playoffs John Cooper could have gone to in the new system!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

