Home > John's Blogs, Parenting > Radical Parenting

Radical Parenting

Would you do this?  Most strangers are quite upset about it.  I would think there are better ways than what this mom did, but I confess that I have felt similar urges on occasion.  Fortunately, I have not acted on them.  What’s your preferred method?

  1. April 22, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I have threatened to do it once – major attitudinal stand off. Said, (as we stood about 20 feet from the van) you can either get in and change your attitude or you can find another way home. I knew that I’d never leave with out the whole family on board.

  2. April 22, 2009 at 11:56 am

    There’s got to be more to this. Why did the 12 year old separate from the 10 year old? Did the Mom come back and the kids were gone? I need more details.

    You have to be careful though, I seem to recall my Dad making my sister get out of the car, drove ahead about 50 yds and waited thinking she would walk toward the car. She didn’t. Finally he backed up to get her. She won that standoff!

  3. jlemke
    April 22, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Jeff, that’s why I never make that particular threat – I’m not truly willing to follow through!. So I reserve punishment for home, and let him stew in the back seat.

    I will say this, though: Like your dad, I have made rash threats that I didn’t really want to follow through on. When I’ve done it, I’ve lost. 🙂

  4. April 22, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    My dad did it to me once on a highway in OK, and I deserved it. They weren’t gone for long, but I got the message.

  5. Ryan Prudhomme
    April 23, 2009 at 10:30 am

    When I was 12 my mom dropped me and my brother off about 3-5 miles from home. She threatened, we called her bluff, and got hosed. I walked the whole way home. Now it was a country road and sometime in the spring. I don’t have a problem with it now looking back. I definately should have known better than to call my mom’s bluff though. Sometimes you never learn.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

