Home > Brian's Blogs > The Resurrection and Cremation

The Resurrection and Cremation

Russell Moore provides an interesting take on the relationship between the resurrection and cremation.  You can read his words here.  While not being dogmatic about it, Dr. Moore says that burial better represents the Christian’s death and resurrection.  But in a Christianity Today poll, 59% (at the time I took the poll) say it doesn’t really matter.  What do you think?

Categories: Brian's Blogs Tags: ,
  1. April 7, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    It matters. I would not cremate.

    Those whose Christian loved ones have been cremated need not despair. Certainly we can count on the resurrection.

    However, cremation does not fit with either specific instances of burial in the Bible (see for instance Joseph’s concern that he be taken back to Israel) or systematic theology, which anticipates the resurrection.

    When I’m dead, as dead I well may be. Bury me in the GSOI. And, “I’ll hear though soft they tread above me. And, my grave will warm and sweeter be.”

  2. April 7, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    It would seem that this is more an issue of Biblical tradition, than Biblical mandate or specific teachings of Christ.

    What is the issue, is it that one is not whole? Not in the ground? I don’t see how it matters. I Corinthians 15:35-43 seems to imply that God will restore the body as He sees fit and that regardless of condition a change will take place to make us immortal.

  3. April 7, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Cremation speeds up the process of decomposition. I suppose it is all about the heart – if you cremate with an intent to pull a fast one on the Creator, then that is another problem. A coffin with a body might be better for the living – grief and hope for the resurrection but I think that ultimately all bodies (sooner or later) return to dust and not a big deal how they get to that point. I’d like a simple pine box please – not expensive and gets the job done. I think I would steer people towards a burial but not forbid cremation.

  4. August 14, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    Simply want to say your article is as astounding.

    The clearness in your post is simply nice and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

