Home > John's Blogs > Internet Surfing

Internet Surfing

I’m not really sure this headline is true for me.  Is it true for you?  Are there any ethical problems associated with it?

Categories: John's Blogs
  1. Brian McLaughlin
    April 4, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I think it does ring true for me. But in my opinion that is a good thing.

    Perhaps our jobs as pastors are different from an accountant or manager, but freedom to surf is helpful. I read theological blogs which helps me grow, news stories which keeps me contemporary (kind of), other church websites to learn what is out there, amazon for books!!!, movie reviews, teens stuff, etc, etc. Even if there is no immediate connection to something I’m working on, I think it is beneficial in me being a well-rounded pastor.

    Have I ever wasted time? Probably, like last week when I watched the Ignatius video 7-8 times, but overall I think the freedom is good. (and I invite you both to come view my browsing history at any moment in time…I’m not ashamed of anything I surf!!!)

  2. April 4, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I think it may make a difference between hourly vs salary employees. An employer may have a problem with an hourly employee who is taking 20% of their time “on the clock” surfing the web, just as they would with too many personal calls, or spending too much time at the water cooler talking about the latest game.

    So, John are you saying you never leisurely surf at work or that you don’t waste 20% of your time on it?

  3. jlemke
    April 5, 2009 at 7:15 am

    I was saying that I’m not sure it makes me more productive. But I do it – some personal, but largely for the reasons Brian notes above. Many times I’ve stumbled across something useful in my WILBing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

