Home > Brian's Blogs, Discipleship > God is Still Using Ted Haggard

God is Still Using Ted Haggard

Most of us are familiar with the fallen evangelical leader, Ted Haggard.  I had lost track of him until I read this story in Christianity Today.  It is a must read.  It is a story of forgiveness and the power of God’s Word.  And, you should note, that Haggard’s continued love for the Word of God is having a profound impact on his own family and on Alexandra Pelosi (the daughter of the Speaker of the House).

  1. January 28, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Something is still not right with Haggard.
    Why agree to have a movie made about yourself when you want to hide away?
    Why is he doing all these interviews?
    I think something is still broken.
    Of course, God can use a broken man to help a movie maker see Himself.

    Another interview with Haggard:
    http://www.usnews.com/blogs/god-and-country/2009/1/26/interview-fallen-evangelical-star-ted-haggard-discusses-his-changing-views-on-the-bible-and-sex.html

  2. January 29, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Doesn’t repentance and reconciliation require full disclosure? It does not appear that Mr. Haggard has been completely honest in regards to his sin(s).

    http://blog.beliefnet.com/crunchycon/2009/01/new-ted-haggard-sex-scandal.html

    That is not to say that God can’t use the situation for His glory, but I’m with Andrew on this one.

  3. Brian McLaughlin
    January 30, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Listen to his wife (from: http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2009/januaryweb-only/104-41.0.html?start=2)

    Gayle, Ted’s wife of 29 years, is the real miracle in this movie. If she had left him after the scandal broke, no one would have blamed her. But she stayed with him, forgave him, and says she would marry him all over again. “I stuck with him because I love him,” she says. “I believe he’s worth it because he’s a human being. I don’t believe in writing people off because they [make] mistakes. I believe you fight for the good. And I knew to restore honor to our children, the best thing I could do was to restore honor to their father.”

    We don’t know that he hasn’t told this to his wife. I assume he’s been honest with her. It seems that they have reconciled.

    I still think God is working.

  4. jlemke
    January 30, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    One of the reports notes that Ted met with the young man along with someone from the New Life leadership. So everyone important evidently knew about that relationship, it was not hidden.

    But I’m not sure he’s truly repentant yet. I’m glad I don’t have to decide!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

