Home > Brian's Blogs > Why I Might Be Emergent

Why I Might Be Emergent

To understand the Emerging Church Movement you have to understand something about fundamentalist evangelicalism.  My dear Co-Pastor Andrew, who may be a closet fundamentalist, remembers the Itty Bitty Bible with fondness.  Count this as one more reason why I’m thankful that God did not save me until college.

Categories: Brian's Blogs
  1. January 16, 2009 at 10:02 am

    What am I missing? I don’t see the connection.

  2. Brian McLaughlin
    January 16, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Jeff, its an ITTY BITTY BIBLE!!! Its ridiculous! This is supposed to be helpful and exciting to people?? I guess it is useful for those carrying around a high-powered microscope who prefer reading the Bible that way, but other than that, it is nonsense thinking that carrying around a microfiche Bible is helpful in any sense.

    Don’t you remember these from your childhood?

  3. Brian D
    January 16, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I am going to guess we will not be seeing this in the pews any time soon. It is interesting that they show it right next to the American Express Card…”Don’t leave home without it”. Of course, this does allow us to examine the bible under a microscope…literally

  4. jlemke
    January 16, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    I gonna order one, and make McLaughlin jealous…

  5. January 16, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I have never seen this before. My first reaction was to laugh. It’s not even functional. I would equate it more to Christian marketing, along with ties with crosses on them, and fish t-shirts, than anything to do with fundamentalism.

    Also, you may not like it, but you are actually a Fundamentalist Evangelical, you just prefer a different delivery method.

  6. Alan
    January 16, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Congrats to Andrew!

  7. Andrew Ford
    January 16, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Hey, Hey, Hey . . . why do I get tossed under the Fundamentalist Sunday School bus? The Itty Bitty Bible is only a memory I have from my childhood. And what kid wouldn’t love to receive a microscopic Bible? It is cool that so much can be kept on such a small space.

  8. Andrew Ford
    January 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Brian – at least it’s not an ESV Bible. For the record, I think it was a reward for attending Sunday School, or memorizing the books of the Bible.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

