Home > Uncategorized > Is Biblical Literacy Declining?

Is Biblical Literacy Declining?

The anecdotal evidence given here suggests that it is.  I tend to agree that it is, as well, though I’m not sure Google search patterns prove it.  Read it and let me know whether you agree or disagree.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Brian D
    January 12, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I would agree that Biblical Literacy is declining. The point about there always being a few popular verses that everyone seemed to know I think is proof of that. I have to be the first to admit that my Biblical Literacy is not as sharp as I would like it to be, however, I think it says something when people would take the time to do a google search to find out what John 3:16 means even if they don’t have a full understanding.

  2. Brian McLaughlin
    January 12, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I agree it is declining. There is no doubt that America is moving (moved?) from an era of “functional Christendom” to “post-Christian.” Even though most Americans profess belief in the Christian God, their understanding is less biblical, more pluralistic, and more a combination of worldviews.

    I think this is the key strength to missional church and emerging church – they understand the movement to post-Christendom.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

