Home > Andrew's Blogs, Evangelism > Atheist Preaches on Evangelism

Atheist Preaches on Evangelism

Penn of Penn and Teller gives a powerful sermon on Evangelism. You ask, How can an atheist preach a sermon on evangelism? You’ll have to watch it for yourself to find out. As I watched, two things came to mind: (1) He’s right, and (2) May God touch Penn’s life with the Gospel. There’s something to be learned here – may the Holy Spirit (not Penn) move us all from an unwillingness to share the Gospel because of social restraint based on comfort. Click on Read more to watch his five minute sermon.

I’m wondering, what keeps you from sharing the Gospel?

H.T. DashHouse

  1. scatheist
    December 18, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Great video, thanks for posting. I like Penn and I think he is a positive force for atheism, however, I disagree with his take on proselytizing. I think that it alienates people of all beliefs and it gives the proselytizer a false sense of being above the person that they are testifying to and that person will no doubt feel that they are being looked down upon. If Christians want people to recognize their belief system, they need to lead by example and show the world why Christianity is the way rather than just telling them. I held this stance even when I was a believer. Thanks for allowing my two-cents.

  2. Andrew Ford
    December 18, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    I agree, we must live it, but at some point we talk about what we believe. This must be done in a caring and sincere way. Any time opposing worldviews collide (and it is a collision – not everyone can be right)a conversation should be held with integrity while valuing the other person. I find that many people have inconsistent worldviews. For example, how can Penn say a person is good (this was very important to him) if there is no morality given by God. If there is no God then why is it important that I am kind and considerate when talking about what I believe.
    I’m curious – how did your faith journey turn from belief in God to belief in no God?

  3. scatheist
    December 19, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Two points:

    1. You are using the term collide and I don’t accept that unless you are proselytizing to someone who disagrees. You are not proselytizing so therefore we are not colliding. We are discussing and debating our worldviews.

    2. You do not have to believe in God to be considered moral or to have a standard of morality.

    Now to answer your question. I was raised a Christian but began having doubts and becoming skeptical at a very young age. Around ten years old. Even though I had doubts, I considered myself a believer for years after that (even though I think I was fooling myself) and then for a while I believed that there was a God but it was disingenuous to claim any further knowledge regardless of what was written in the different earthly holy books. Then about a year ago I sat down and made myself think about what it is I truly believe. I then realized that I don’t believe in God and began to cement my views and I became a strong atheist.

    That’s the very short version. This was a decision that was years in the making.

  4. Ryan Prudhomme
    December 19, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Penn says, “I KNOW there is no God”. CS Lewis created a tool.

    Draw a circle.
    That circle represents all knowledge in the universe that can ever be known. Every knowable thing is included in that circle.

    Now shade in what percentage of all knowledge you know.

    Almost anyone will put a pin prick sized dot on the page.

    Then the question is, How can you KNOW there is no God? Is it possible, I’m not saying it actually happened, I’m just asking is it possible that there is some kind of God out there?

    Most will answer how can you KNOW there is a God?

    At that point there is a mutual discussion. This must be done by both sides with an open mind. I hontestly believe that Christianity is the only religion that makes since of all my life questions.

    When some one admits the possibility of some sort of God outside there realm of knowledge they are know an agnostic.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

