Home > Biblical Studies, Evangelism, John's Blogs > Do You Have Salvation? (Nope)

Do You Have Salvation? (Nope)

Growing up, I becames so accustomed to thinking of myself as “Saved” (past tense) that I tended to think of salvation as something that I own.  In other words, God transfers salvation to me and then I have salvation.  But I don’t  – I am saved, but I don’t have it.

Christopher J. H. Wright’s book Salvation Belongs to Our God has helped my thinking immensely.   He uses Revelation 7:9-10 as his controlling text.  The passage ends:

“Salvation belongs to our God, who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb.”

That verse previously confused me.  I couldn’t understand the sense in which salvation belongs to God, since I thought it was something given to me.   

One of Wright’s points is very simple – no other god can save.  Thus, salvation belongs to Him alone.   This means we can’t control it, can’t give it away or take it from someone, and it is offered by God and not us.  All we can do is proclaim that it is here and available. 

That’s actually helpful, because it means that my responsibility in the matter of the gospel is clear.  I proclaim it as understandably as my ability allows, and then God gives it out as He wills.  It also means that prayer is an important part of the process – an area in which I am totally inadequate.

As always, order the book!  It’s a worthwhile read.

  1. Brian McLaughlin
    December 10, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Its kind of like church: we don’t go to church, we are the church!!! 🙂

  2. jlemke
    December 10, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Dang it. Didn’t see that coming…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

