Home > Andrew's Blogs, Evangelism > Chick Tracts: A Blast From My Past

Chick Tracts: A Blast From My Past

Have you ever read (or given out) a Chick Tract? Crunchy Con has a post about Jack Chick Tracts here, but what encouraged me was the testimony of how God used one of those odd tracts to help a young man see his need for God. I guess it is true, God can even use a old Chick Tract for His purpose and glory.

Read his story after the jump.

lancelot lamar

October 30, 2008 7:53 PM

Yes, Yes. Jack Chick is crazy and so are most of his comics. The Holocaust being caused by the Jesuits was a new one to me.

However, I remember reading “This Was Your Life” as a boy in 3rd or 4th grade. It was the first time in my life I’d ever heard that the civil religion of mainline, small-town Christianity–that trying to be a good person, and living a good, decent, middle-class life made you acceptable to God–might not be true, and might even be contrary to the Bible’s witness about God and men.

I saw myself in that poor man in the tract, so respectable and even religious on the outside, and so eaten up with greed, lust, and pride on the inside, and realizing the truth too late. It was one, small thing that helped me begin to see myself as a sinner in need of a Savior, and that God’s grace was the only thing that could save me.

Since then I’ve studied theology at Oxford and Yale, and can certainly see the limitations in and laugh at much of Jack Chick’s work. But that too literal and too crude tract presented an indisputable truth about me and everyone else in the world: we are not what we seem to be, and there is a whole other world beyond this one, an eternal one, to which we are accountable and which we can attain only by God’s grace. Yes, that is a Halloween Horror that will provide nightmares to those who reject it But it is also an All Saint’s Day miracle of beauty and sweetness to those who accept it and are saved, by grace alone through faith alone.

If God is sovereign, He can even use Jack Chick’s comics to His ends, and I’m sure has done so for many besides me.

How has God used a piece of literature in your life?

  1. Brian McLaughlin
    October 30, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    And many fundamentalist Christians wonder why the emerging church resonates with the younger generations….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

