Home > Andrew's Blogs, Marriage > Slam Poem for Jill on Our Anniversary

Slam Poem for Jill on Our Anniversary

Slam poetry is a manly form of poetry. It is relatively new on the poetry scene. It is meant to be read aloud and with force and strength. Instead of a mushy poem (which I have written to Jill) I thought it would be an appropriate way to express my steadfast love for Jill on our 18th anniversary – September 1st. So, read it aloud and powerfully and you’ll know how much I love Jill. Maybe you can recite it to your spouse (of course change the name).

For Jill on our anniversary:

Lest there be any doubt

Lest things be fuzzy

Lest some be unsure

I am immeasurably in love with Jill

~

Some men conceal their words

And let their lexis of loyalty be few

They keep their declarations of fidelity muted

But today I state my terms robustly

I am immensely in love with Jill

~

Some men doubt their choice

And look back and think “if only there was another”

They pine and wonder if she was the right selection

And so I slam my words for all to hear

I am colossally in love with Jill

~

Some men think the grass is greener

And gaze across the picket fence

Their eyes and hearts new pastures wander

“Not me” I shout for all the world to hear

I am massively in love with Jill

~

Some men ditch their vows

And retreat from “death do us part”

They back away, like school boys – they cut and run

But my words, my promise, my pledge, I hold firm and fast

I am extraordinarily in love with you

Categories: Andrew's Blogs, Marriage Tags:
  1. September 1, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Andrew,
    Mom would be so proud of you.

  2. Ken England
    September 3, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Way to go Pastor; Great idea that I would not have thought of on my own.
    Thanks;
    God be the Glory

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

