Home > Brian's Blogs, Renewal > Renewal Update 13: Still in Hawaii

Renewal Update 13: Still in Hawaii

My Hawaii adventure continues, but for the last couple of days I haven’t done much outside of the hotel conference room in which my class meets.  That is okay because it is the reason I’m here this week and I’m really enjoying it.  Here are a few overall thoughts and a couple of pictures.

  • I’ve been waking up around 5:30 am (Hawaii time), which is a time of day I never see in Grand Ledge.  I’m really enjoying the time I have before my 8:00 am class.  I have enjoyed long walks every morning which just gives me a time to think and pray and talk to Nikki.  It has been some great time.  Here is a picture of where I walked this morning: it is along the Ala Wai canal and looking back toward Honolulu.

I also came across this school on my walk.  It is an elementary school and the kids started July 29!

  • I’ve been trying to save money on food now so Nikki and I can spend a lot when she gets here.  I think I’ve been successful so far, but I’m absolutely sick of Denny’s, Subway and Burger King.  I splurged a little bit last night and went out with a couple of my fellow classmates.  After we ate we went across the street to the beach and watched some local music being performed.  I was a little too late to participate in the hula lesson, but there is always tonight…
  • I’m enjoying Waikiki, but I’m getting a little tired of walking the same 5 blocks to and from class.  I’m looking forward to Nikki being here so we can explore more of this beautiful island.
  • The class discussions have been awesome, but they still don’t compare to sitting around the table with Andrew and John on Monday.  We really have something special and I miss the guys (of course, it is a lot nicer to have these discussions on a rocking chair overlooking the Pacific Ocean than in Andrew’s office).  On that note, I took this the other day, but here is another picture of what I see every day.  It sure is hard to go to school is this type of environment…

Categories: Brian's Blogs, Renewal Tags:
  1. jlemke
    August 6, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    For the record, we miss you too.

  2. Stephanie Hale
    August 7, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Brian, I am so glad to hear that you are enjoying your class and your experience on the island so far! Be sure to give someone your camera to capture your hula attempt should you decide to do so…that would be priceless!!!!:)

    Have a great time with Nikki once she arrives. Trev and I are thrilled for you guys to have this time together!

  3. Bethany R
    August 8, 2008 at 10:49 am

    nice leading line in that last pic! =0)

  4. Brian McLaughlin
    August 8, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Bethany,

    I have never forgotten your Jamaica photography lesson. I’ve been trying to practice what you taught me. I think some of them are turning out pretty good (not as good as yours, of course).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

