Home > Andrew's Blogs, worship > Good God Centered Music Is Hard To Find

Good God Centered Music Is Hard To Find

I grow disappointed with Christian music some times. It’s not the tunes, not the style, not the instruments, but the content. So much of music (new and old) fail to take me to the character and nature of God and leave me in places that center around myself. So many songs are banal and shallow, so I would like to point out some music that encourages me in my journey with God.

I’ve been enjoying Sovereign Grace music for a few reasons:

  • Good theology – Just because music moves our emotions doesn’t mean it shouldn’t have good doctrine and theology. Good music should strengthen what we believe while moving our hearts and emotions.
  • Not man centered – much music is sugary and me centered. We need lyrics that point to God and what He has done through Jesus!
  • New – New tunes, new words, and new combinations of the two are good and refreshing.

My most recent download is Come Weary Saints and I am enjoying it very much.

You can download one of the songs – I Have a Shelter – free here.

Here are the words for I Have a Shelter:

I have a shelter in the storm
When troubles pour upon me
Though fears are rising like a flood
My soul can rest securely
O Jesus, I will hide in You
My place of peace and solace
No trial is deeper than Your love
That comforts all my sorrows

I have a shelter in the storm
When all my sins accuse me
Though justice charges me with guilt
Your grace will not refuse me
O Jesus, I will hide in You
Who bore my condemnation
I find my refuge in Your wounds
For there I find salvation

I have a shelter in the storm
When constant winds would break me
For in my weakness, I have learned
Your strength will not forsake me
O Jesus, I will hide in You
The One who bears my burdens
With faithful hands that cannot fail
You’ll bring me home to heaven

Other Music I like (lest you think I’m musically narrow):

James Taylor, Harry Connick Jr., Organized, CCR and more.

  1. May 6, 2008 at 10:02 am

    I really like that Sovereign Grace stuff. My favorite is: Songs of the Cross Centered Life. I never get tired of listening to that album. Valley of Vision is good, too. My ‘other’ is: Brad Paisley, Caedmon’s Call, Delirious?, Jeff Dernlan, Jimmy Buffet…

  2. May 6, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Todd:
    Can a missionary listen to Jimmy Buffet with a clear conscience????

  3. May 7, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I’d say only some of his stuff is worth it. I just threw that in there to puncture any inflated images of missionaries. =]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

